Happy New Year! 2017

SC: meganspointe


Hello, World! I’m back! 🙂

It’s been over THREE YEARS since my last blog post… THREE YEARS! A ton has happened in that time, too much to recap in one post. And the number of times I’ve thought about and wanted to come back in those three years is a little ridiculous… so… here I am!

“What is your motivation for coming back after three years?” you may ask. Well, the simple answer is that my New Year’s Resolution has inspired me to return. 2017 is all about “connections.”

“Connection is why we’re here. We are hardwired to connect with others, it’s what gives purpose and meaning to our lives, and without it there is suffering.” -Brené Brown

In 2015, Tyler and I packed-up and moved our lives to an entirely new place. An adventure of a lifetime! And we’re still loving every minute of it! We both found jobs that we thoroughly enjoy, and we’re building a life outside of work – something we felt we were lacking in Oklahoma City. We go hiking as often as we can, Tyler is always looking forward to getting back on the slopes, and we love that there is always something to do! We decided we loved Denver so much, we bought our first house this summer! An adventure all of its own!

Now, we’re over halfway into our second year here and I’ve noticed I’m falling into some familiar patterns… go to work… go home… wash, rinse, repeat. Ok, so it’s certainly not that mundane, but I’m noticing an overall lack of connectivity. To friends, to the dance scene, to my new community, and to myself. A feeling I’d like to remedy.

For those of you that know me pretty well, I’m very much a homebody. Always have been, and probably always will be – especially now that we have our own home. I mean, it’s just so easy and comfortable to fall into that pattern. But sometimes it feels like I’ve fallen into a rut, and sometimes it feels isolating. I’ve always enjoyed discovering other perspectives on life, and when you realize you haven’t stepped outside for an entire day, you start to realize just how tiny your bubble has gotten. And it starts to feel very isolating. 

That brings me back to my New Year’s Resolution… making connections. My goal is to reach out to more friends and work to build a larger “community.” I plan to find more time to explore the dance scene in Colorado and simply just explore more of Colorado as a whole. This is essentially my “call for help” or my version of “accountability,” if you will, to making these changes happen. So please, don’t be surprised if I randomly reach out to you during the next twelve months… and I encourage you to do the same… I mean, how many times does something in your everyday life remind you of a friend or loved one, and you think to yourself, “I’m going to give them a call!” and then life gets busy, and you never do? Or even scrolling on social media, you see a post that makes you literally “LOL”, but you haven’t talked to the person who posted in ages, so you chuckle to yourself and scroll on. Well, I’m here to say, I plan on calling, or at least texting you – let’s be honest, it’ll most likely be a text. I plan to try some new dance classes. I plan to explore new corners of my city/state. I plan to find as many ways to create connections to the world around me.

I’m not entirely sure where this journey will take me in the next year, but I sure am excited to find out anyways! And I hope you’ll, at the very least, follow me on my journey when you can, and maybe even join me from time to time. We all know life is tough. We all have our own struggles and triumphs. Why not reach out and share your experiences with those around you? After all, why else would we all be here, sharing space on this earth, if we weren’t supposed to find connections?

So, so please don’t hesitate to reach out, even if it’s just to say “Hi!” or we haven’t talked in forever. And by all means, if you want to grab coffee, or you want to share an idea of how you enjoy finding connections to the world around you, I hope you’ll think of me, as I embark on this adventure!

Here’s to the New Year! 2017! A chance to make a meaningful connection with the world around me! And I hope you and yours have a tremendous year, filled with joy and happiness! Oh, and don’t be a stranger! 🙂

Until Next Time!

-Megan-

Happy New Year from The Clark’s!

Leave a Reply

