Weekend Recap/ Productive Monday! :-)

Hey Everyone! 🙂 Can you believe it is AUGUST already?! I certainly can’t… (that means, the countdown to my 22nd Birthday can begin!).

This weekend Tyler and I actually did more than just sit around! (Not much, though haha). Friday was National Cheesecake Day and Cheesecake Factory had 1/2 price Cheesecake slices!!!! Since my trip to Cheesecake Factory LAST Saturday was RUDELY (;-)) interrupted by Tyler’s “medical emergency,” he agreed to take me! So we had a wonderful dinner and I was able to keep, and eat, all of my cheesecake that I missed out on the week before! Yay! 🙂

Saturday we got up and resigned our lease for another 6 months. We are going to start looking for a new home and we plan to move sometime in January. Then we took Dashy to the vet for a laundry-list of things- nails trimmed, wellness check-up, annual shot, etc. That turned out to be more eventful than expected… Because Dash is so small (I had never had a “small” dog until Dash- he weighed 13lbs!), he reacts to his medicine occasionally. Once he got a shot and his ears swelled to a 1/4 of an inch thick… normally his ears are paper thin. Well, this time… (as you’ll see in the video), Dash started running around the apartment like CRAZY! He was rolling on the floor, climbing on the coffee table, under the bed, on the back of the couch (the video)- just WILD! After he made his way up to the back of the couch (sorry for the bad lighting) we noticed his poor little face was SO swollen and the medicine made him itchy! His face was SO puffy and he started to break out in hives! Poor doggie. We called the emergency clinic to see if we needed to bring him in (we are all too familiar with ER’s around here!) and they said only if we were extremely concerned, but we could give him some Benadryl to help the swelling and allergic reaction. Poor guy seemed so miserable… but the Benadryl did help- and it helped knock him out too, haha. He was SO sleepy!

*Dashy’s swollen face!*

Well, that was ENOUGH fun for one day. So we just lounged around watching movies the rest of the day! We watched Paranormal Activity for the first time… Talk about CREEPY! Then some other movies and that was our Saturday. Sunday, we did laundry and watched more movies… haha, we’re so exciting around here! 🙂

I HAVE made some progress from my last update’s “To-Do-List” though! After I re-read Harry Potter 1 and watched the movie I started and finished Secret Daughter: A Mixed-Race Daughter and the Mother Who Gave Her Away by June Cross…. It’s the book the incoming Freshman are reading as part of the OCUReads program this year. I may, or may not, be helping with this program during orientation week which prompted me to read it in the first place, but it turned out to be a really good book. I really enjoyed that glimpse of our country’s history. It was a fascinating story.

Today, I read through my MFA Student Guide and then I started cleaning! (And taking Dash to the vet was on the list too!) The Student Guide really helped me to get my motors into gear. It reminded me of not only why I decided to stay in school, but also that I need to get my head back in the game over these next couple of weeks to have a fresh start, something I feel I’ve been desperately needing for a while now. As for cleaning, I only REALLY got to the closet in the bedroom (it was JAM packed) and it took all day! I have pictures of the process that I think I’ll save for a “final product” post. It was a disaster! Luckily, Haley and I Skyped throughout the process, so I wasn’t completely miserable… although she was in 97 degree heat- INDOORS- due to a broken AC! No fun!

Tomorrow, it’s the bathroom and whatever else I can convince myself to do! 🙂 Overall, it’s been a very productive couple of days. I’m pleased with the way my summer is turning out so far! 🙂

Until Next Time,
~*~Megan~*~

Leave a Reply

