Spring Semester Day 3 and Random :)

Well, it’s Day 3 of the Spring Semester and already BIG things are underway! The first few days have been wonderful! I love getting back into a schedule, especially one that includes DANCING!

Monday I was actually SUPER productive! After Tap I was able to run some errands AND go home for lunch! I’m pretty sure I will have time every day to come home for lunch which will be very nice! 🙂

So far I am REALLY enjoying my classes (the few times I’ve had them… 🙂 )

Tap and Jazz are wonderful as always! I am so glad to be back in Jazz.

Choreography II is going to be a fun experience. It’s so exciting to test out my creative genes and be able to see your work come to life.

Dance Studio Management (which is my Capstone class) is exactly what it sounds like! We are going to be doing all the planning and legwork for starting up a dance studio! I am SO excited and feel like my dreams are within my reach.

Jazz Pedagogy II and Lab are very similar to our Tap Pedagogy and Ballet Pedagogy classes from last semester… We will be teaching in the Community Dance Center that is attached to OCU’s Ann Lacy School of American Dance and Arts Management (my school/department). I will first be assisting a 7-9 year old Jazz class and then around Spring Break I will assume the role of the teacher. It should be tons of fun! 🙂

I am also taking Research and Writing for Dance, my first class for my Masters! It is going to be very challenging but also a really great way to get my feet wet in the world of paper writing that will grow as I dive deeper into the program… I’m a little nervous but I just have to make sure I stay on top of it… I think I can, I think I can! 🙂

A couple of RANDOM tidbit…

First off, I am trying a new thing out this year (not necessarily a New Years Resolution because it’s already January 13th, but whatever)… I am going to work harder on setting goals for myself, the classes I teach and my life in general. I never have been a goal-setter (weird) but I just like to make To-Do lists (maybe those are goals)… nonetheless I want to get better at making and achieving goals for myself… SO…. stay tuned for an update on this matter! 🙂

Secondly, while reading for my Jazz Pedagogy class today, I came across this very neat little quote, if you will, about teaching dance that I thought was just really neat… and pretty much sums it all up….

“Teaching [dance] is the educational equivalent of white-water rafting. Periods of apparent calm are interspersed with sudden frenetic turbulence. Boredom alternates with excitement, reflection with action. As we successfully navigate rapids fraught with danger, we feel a sense of self-confident exhilaration. As we start downstream after capsizing our self-confidence is shaken and we are awash in self-doubt. All teachers sooner or later capsize, and all teachers worth their salt regularly ask themselves whether or not they are doing the right thing. Experiencing regular episodes of hesitation, disappointment, and ego-deflation is quite normal. Indeed the awareness of painful dilemmas in our practice, and the readiness to admit that we are hurting from experiencing these, is an important indicator that we are critically alert. If you deny experiencing such dilemmas, you are either exhibiting denial on a massive scale or getting through each class on automatic pilot.” – Excerpt from The Excellent Instructor and the Teaching of Dance Technique by Nora Ambrosio

Tonight, I have a Students of Arts Management Meeting and then maybe doing more homework… (not a lot just getting ahead)…

Until Next Time,
~*~Megan~*~

Leave a Reply

