Wonderful 21st Birthday Weekend!

I am officially an adult now! (YIKES!) My 21st birthday was yesterday and it was absolutely wonderful!

Tyler and I loaded up and headed to Kansas City on Friday night for the weekend. We ended up getting to leave OKC around 3pm on Friday (instead of 6pm) so we got to KC early enough to go visiting! We didn’t end up getting back to Tyler’s dad’s house until 2am!
* Captain Dash and Driver Tyler šŸ™‚
* Sleepy Puppy
* Dash Driving (When we stopped at the toll plaza, Dash decided to give driving a try šŸ™‚ )
Saturday we woke up and went to breakfast with my Mom, Sister, and Grandma Beverly. Then it was off to Sam’s Club to pick up my “surprise” birthday cake! šŸ™‚ Next, I got my NEW PHONE!!!! šŸ™‚ After the phone excursion I bought my first power ball ticket (3 years late) since the power ball jackpot is 213 million (was)… unfortunately we didn’t win. Then my mom showed Tyler and I this neat little vintage movie store that she loves! It is a very cool little place. Then it was time to go home and prepare for the theatre!!!
* My Birthday Cinnamon Roll (this was actually part of Tyler’s Breakfast but it was yummy šŸ™‚ )
*Haley and Dash (apparently my new phone has a green flash)
* My Birthday Present from Tyler and his Dad šŸ™‚
Saturday night, my Mom, Haley, Debbie (Tyler’s mom) my Grandma Beverly and I went to Starlight Theatre (our outdoor theatre in KC) and saw the Broadway National Tour of CHICAGO! It POURED rain on us the entire show… we were soaked… but it was a WONDERFUL show and a memorable experience. At some points it was raining so hard we could not hear the speaker system… it was pretty comical and tons of fun! A perfect example that the show… “must go on…” šŸ™‚

*Walking to the Theatre Entrance

*Haley and I at Intermission (it stopped raining for the 10 minutes then picked back up with the opening note šŸ™‚ )
Sunday (my actual birthday), we got up and finished our laundry then headed to see Tyler’s Mom and step-Dad. Then we went to Applebee’s with my Mom and Haley and my Dad was able to sit down and eat with us (he’s been very busy at work lately). Then we had CAKE!!! It was so good.
* Tyler waiting for Laundry to be done and visiting at his Dads šŸ™‚
* Birthday cake w/o candles and w/ candles! So pretty (and yummy šŸ™‚ )
After all the fun visiting, it was time to load up and head out. We got on the road by about 4pm. Our trip was fun. At first Tyler and I were SO exhausted we played the “alphabet” game (like 5 times). By the time we got to Wichita, KS, we couldn’t stand the boredom any more. We stopped at the gas station to get gas and food and we also got a kid’s activity book. We spent the remainder of our trip doing “Mad Libs,” “Mini-Mysteries,” and “Crossword Puzzles” from our new book! It made the trip much better (plus we had food!). After we got off the Kansas Turnpike at the border of KS and OK we hit some really crazy rain for all of two minutes. The wind was blowing like crazy…. Tyler was having trouble keeping the truck on the road.. and then we couldn’t see the road so finally we pulled off on the side of the road and no later than we got settled, the rain practically disappeared. It was a crazy experience that left us with some amazing pictures of the sunset and far off storms.
* Sleepy Dash
* Sun shine through the clouds…

*The storm clouds approaching
*The storm we just past through
*Storm clouds off to the West and the Sun Set
*The Beautiful Sun Set on my Birthday! šŸ™‚
We got home about 9:30pm and then unloaded the truck in the dark. I opened my last birthday present from my Grandma Joyce, which was the most wonderful care package of birthday presents. My FAVORITE part was that she made a photo album of me, and Haley and my family throughout the years. There are pictures of my Dad as a kid, my Mom and Dad when they first started dating, me as a baby, Haley as a baby (and proud big sis), and even a picture of my Grandma and Grandpa when they got married!!! šŸ™‚ So sweet (I even started tearing up a little)… Such a thoughtful birthday present! šŸ™‚
All in all, this was a WONDERFUL birthday weekend! I was really wanting to spend my birthday with the family and we certainly did. It was a nice trip and bittersweet to be home now. Today is getting unpacked and semi-ready to go back to school next Monday. There are all sorts of orientation things this week that I’ll be on campus for, so it’s a busy week. I’m going to try and get my books today (if I can manage the freshman move-in crowd), and hopefully get some food in the apartment. Other than that it’s just getting used to being 21 now and getting ready to start my SENIOR year of college!!! AH!
Until Next Time,
~*~Megan~*~
P.S. I can’t believe Haley started MIDDLE SCHOOL today!!! AH so weird! šŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

